Be A Guy

Faroe Island Whaling, a 1,000-Year Tradition, Comes Under Renewed Fire

In Did You See This? on September 12, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Faroe Island Whaling, a 1,000-Year Tradition, Comes Under Renewed Fire.

 

I was thinking today about how, though I disagree, I admire people who are vegetarians for ethical reasons. I spotted 6 turkey’s and at least 12 deer today and know people whom I like who are offended by my wish to shoot and eat them.

Last month I was thinking about how the Ebola epidemics seem to start with “bush meat”- bats and simians. I don’t know that I could eat a bat because I find the idea so repulsive. I’m even more certain that I couldn’t eat an ape- I’m funny that way about cannibalism, and our genome and a chimp’s are something north of 90% in common… I’m a great reader of tales of arctic & Antarctic exploration, I applaud the practicality of the Norwegians eating sled dogs and I could conceptualize an “Alive” cannibalism scenario. But hunting apes for gustatory pleasure does nothing for me.

And then we come to cetaceans. I’d like to think that my suspicion of their self-awareness goes deeper than “Day of the Dolphin” & Douglas Adams. The symbiosis between Orcas and Humans in hunting Baleen Whales in Twofold Bay cemented my suspicion of whales intellect and has me wondering who was the hunter and who,was the hound. [ http://www.killersofeden.com ]… I’ve never eaten Dolphin or whale and there’s a pretty good chance I won’t.

I’m not sure that there is a great difference between the semi-Hebraic dispatch of these whales in the article above and the harvesting of any of the meat I eat.

My last observation on this article would be that, perhaps, this would be embraced as a more traditional tribal rite if the Faroe Islanders weren’t so damned white.

 

 

 

Comments? Questions? Observations?

Aldine by Rebecca Romney

Rare Books, Printed Matter, Strange Things.

Thomas Pluck

die laughing

Jake Bible Fiction

More Jake Bible than you can probably stand!

Insatiable Booksluts

Observations - From the sharp end

Cat Skull Studio

Shameless Commerce

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Here She Is Boys

cultural commentary by NYC's Brenda Tobias

Jilanne Hoffmann

The Writer's Shadow

thegreatantagonizer

Fighting evil with antagonism

The Smartest Guy in the Room

||||| a podcast for dads, non-dads, and other humans |||||

Stephanie Bernaba

Writer | Photographer

sarsourraaa

Everything is changing.

L R Wicker Design

Playground for the Etsy shop of the same name...

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Flash & Filigree

A Serendipitous Partnership

Nitty Gritty Dirt Man

The incredibly true misadventures of a home gardener.

