Be A Guy

Spirits of the South Pole

In Be a Guy, Thoughtful- Items I'd Like you to Read, Yes, You are a Wimp on August 3, 2011 at 9:38 pm

As some of you may or may not know- I haven’t had a whiskey in 25 years- and all of this “Hint of pear, cinnamon, crushed almonds, marzipan; whiff of tobacco, leaf-smoke, moist leather.” is pretty much a crock of shit in my book. However, were I still drinking whiskey; no let me rephrase that, had I ever learned to drink in moderation, hell had I any interest in drinking and not in getting drunk….
If I weren’t such an animal I would really like to get my hands on a bit of this…I can only speak for myself when I say once you get to a moderately civilized hooch , Jamesons, and your 4th beer it’s all about the booze.

[As Tred Barta said “Fly-fishing is just another f**king way of presenting a bait” and all this BS about whiskey get’s tedious and the wine thing is just a way guys try to seduce women.]

But I am a fan of Shackleton and having read 6 or 7 books about him amused to hear  “He was irresistibly charming, especially to women, and for his time — he was born in 1874 — was a highly advanced adulterer, who liked sharing his girlfriends with their husbands.” He used cocaine “and heavy drinking and smoking may account for his death of a heart attack at age 47.” Which would mean that Ernest and I had similar hobbies- though I tended to keep the husbands in the dark.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/24/magazine/drinking-ernest-shackletons-whisky.html?pagewanted=all

Had this expedition taken off in this century Shackleton would be left on the dock, all the Brits would not have made the cut.  
Roald  Amundsen won the race and PETA would have closed his act down pretty quickly- to me the idea of eating the sled dogs after their load is used up seems like a pretty good idea.
 
[Another Rake of whom I am very fond is Richard Francis Burton].

Comments? Questions? Observations?

Aldine by Rebecca Romney

Rare Books, Printed Matter, Strange Things.

Thomas Pluck

unflinching fiction with heart

Jake Bible Fiction

More Jake Bible than you can probably stand!

Insatiable Booksluts

Observations - From the sharp end

Cat Skull Studio

Shameless Commerce

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Here She Is Boys

cultural commentary by NYC's Brenda Tobias

Jilanne Hoffmann

The Writer's Shadow

thegreatantagonizer

Fighting evil with antagonism

The Smartest Guy in the Room

||||| a podcast for dads, non-dads, and other humans |||||

Stephanie Bernaba

Writer | Photographer

sarsourraaa

Everything is changing.

L R Wicker Design

Playground for the Etsy shop of the same name...

Flash & Filigree

A Serendipitous Partnership

Nitty Gritty Dirt Man

The incredibly true misadventures of a home gardener.

