Be A Guy

Daily Prompt: Second Time Around Lonesome Dove, or anything else by Larry McMurtry.

In Did You See This? on April 26, 2013 at 7:06 am

This comes about from WordPress‘ Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

As a young teen, in lieu of the “Talk”, my Dad gave me copies of “The Last Picture Show“– “this explains a lot about where I came from” and “The Joy of Sex“– “but I’m sure you’ll find this more interesting”. I have re-read the first, several times. Truth be told: I may have memorized the second on my first reading.

I can’t say I’ve read all that Mr. McMurtry has written, but confidently state I’ve read most of it, in the past month an old friend of ours, Larry and me, turned me on to his blog, Flash & Filligree, which surprised me.
I’m into this sad cycle, with this author, that I go through with what seem like old friends– new finds are becoming rarer and rarer as we both age.

I’m well read, if not educated, all my life and spent 20 some years on commuter trains digesting everything. I have opined for years that lonesome dove is the great American novel. I’m a literalist delighted to discover that “Moby Dick” is based on “The tragedy of the Essex” and that Joseph Conrad actually saw much of the depredations of “The Heart of Darkness” in the Congo. I received some feedback from the author confirming that the story draws from historical events. As this story enfolds, a decade after The Civil War, America is transitioning from what it was to what it will become. I have read “Lonesome Dove” in many moods revolving around change in my life. I picked up a copy to fill the time during my first year of not drinking; I needed an opus and a break from the shambles that was my life. A few years later I chose it to bring on a vacation visit to my parents with the fiancé. I could have taken warning of where the marriage was headed when I was bringing a book big enough to chock a tire. I recall sitting in the sun and laughing aloud at Gus McCrae‘s quips more to the bafflement than bemusement of the soon to be Missus. It seems to me I’ve cribbed a lot of my plain spoken teasing and confrontational language from Gus, or perhaps his character appealed to me because my language was headed there. In later years I have identified with Call; forcing the pace, standing solitary watch, a lonely and misunderstood protector as I considered the dissolution of my marriage. I have a habit of re-reading books to deal with insomnia; this doesn’t work with Lonesome Dove as I always re-engage with the language and characters.

I missed my opportunity to meet Larry McMurtry (and Diana Ossana, his writing partner) when Mary J. and I missed our connection. There is an astronomy of butterfly effects that coulda/woulda/ shoulda been. This universe includes an email exchange about Mr. McMurtry being forwarded to him as a printout and a handwritten note, from him, being forwarded to me. The gist of his note is to haunt bookstores and keep writing.

Comments? Questions? Observations?

Aldine by Rebecca Romney

The rare book expert on Pawn Stars and manager at Bauman Rare Books, discussing rare and classic books

Thomas Pluck

Writer of Hardboiled Thrillers

BRAIN SQUEEZIN'S

Jake Bible Fiction at its finest!

Observations - From the sharp end

Cat Skull Studio

Shameless Commerce

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

The Magill Review

The writings and reportings of passionate wielders of the pen during a tumultuous and vibrant time in our history.

Lachlan + Cathy

Welcome to the House of Payne

Here She Is Boys

cultural commentary by NYC's Brenda Tobias

Jilanne Hoffmann

The Writer's Shadow

thegreatantagonizer

Fighting evil with antagonism

Soul Additions

Nurturing the soul to lead a more fulfilling life.

The Smartest Guy in the Room

||||| a podcast for dads, non-dads, and other humans |||||

STEPHANIE BERNABA

Writer | Blogger | Humorist | Businesslady

sarsourraaa

Everything is changing.

Alycia Neighbours

life is messy and you have to be a fighter, but you aren't alone. Ever.

L R Wicker Design

Playground for the Etsy shop of the same name...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 333 other followers

